Testimonials

Read about our events from patrons below, and see the glowing reviews of the Barnes Barn on Wedding Wire. You can also connect with us on Facebook to see more photos and comments on our venue and services.

Virginia reel dance

We have a huge family, and the barn is the perfect place for everyone to get together. Inside, we devote one whole wall to displaying the family tree and old family photos dating back to the 1800s.  The open floor plan provides plenty of room for the kids to run around and blow off steam while the adults enjoy a drink at the bar, or catch up with a few cousins in the seating area. Since the barn is on a quiet country road, it’s also nice to enjoy the outside area without worrying too much about traffic. The sky is blue, the hills are green, the air is fresh, and the beer is cold. Rain or shine, we know the barn will always play a huge part in building more family memories each year.

Lisa Dolbear

Annual Family Reunion

Cheryl and John McGurk

John and I were so glad we decided to have our wedding at the barn. The scenery, the food, and the barn itself helped to make our day unforgettable. The open floor plan allowed everyone to be together and share in the celebration — whether it was square dancing in the center of the barn, or giving everyone a great view of the speeches and toasts from the main stage. Our guests still can’t stop talking about what a great place it is! Thank you again to the Barnes family for helping every step of the way.

Cheryl McGurk

July 23, 2005 Wedding

The Barnes’ were extremely accommodating, professional and helpful. Not to mention, it’s the most beautiful place I’ve ever been for a wedding. I’ve had multiple guests commenting that night, after, and still commenting about how beautiful our wedding venue was. Also, I’ve had several (engaged) couples inquire about the venue who were not at our wedding, but saw pictures or heard from people who were there how truly magnificent it is. If we had to do it all over again, there’s no doubt in my mind, the location would remain the same! We instantly fell in love with The Barnes Barn!

Joanna

August 30, 2014 Wedding

This venue is the absolute best venue to have your wedding at. From the moment I called to come see it until days after my wedding the Barnes Family was absolutely incredible. Everytime I needed to come see the venue (multiple tea prior to the wedding) they were flexible and always got me in with a “no big deal” attitude and smile. We were able to start decorating the whole week of the wedding which is so incredible and they only have 1 wedding a weekend which was so nice not to be rushed out. Anything that we needed they provided, it is just seriously the most breath taking place in the area with views that will be imprinted into you and your guests minds forever. Every single guest’s minds were blown and they compliments are never ending! If you want the most special and enchanting wedding then The only way to go is the Batnes way! Thank you so much Barnes family! A day we will never forget becaise of you sharing such a beautiful barn, home, and time with us. You will forever hold a special place in our hearts! Much love, The Austins

Ashley

July 25, 2015 Wedding

Barnes Barn is the perfect venue! The Barnes family is so easy to work with and their property is gorgeous. We were given a whole week to set-up and Mr. Barnes checked in on us frequently to make sure we had everything we needed. We were allowed to choose any location we wanted on the property to have our ceremony, and it was great to be able to have our ceremony and reception at the same venue. The barn itself is spacious and allows for endless possibilities for set-up options. It also barely needs any decorating because it already looks so rustic. Also, our reception lasted two hours longer than we had expected and the Barnes family had no problem letting everyone stay a bit longer. We had such an amazing ceremony and reception, and we wouldn’t have changed a thing about our day. We’re so glad that we picked Barnes Barn as our venue!

Clarissa

August 22, 2015 Wedding

My fiance and I are getting married at Barnes Barn this coming August. I cannot begin to describe how fortunate we feel that we found Barnes Barn as our venue. We live in Brooklyn, NY and we were looking to get married in a barn a little closer to the city but as soon as we visited Barnes Barn, we knew it was perfect for us — the space, the grounds, the price, the flexibility, the people, the vibe. It is completely unlike the other wedding factory venues we had viewed that upcharge for everything, restrict you to which vendors you can use, and impose tons of rules and regulations on your day. To the contrary, the Barneses are so accommodating. They will be as helpful or as hands-off as you like. Megan Barnes, the venue coordinator, provided suggestions for caterers, transportation companies, hotels, and photographers to check out in the area but we were under no obligation to book with them. Anyway – back to the barn! It is huge, beautiful, gorgeously lit and the options for how to set it up are endless. We were struggling to find a venue that could hold our ~200 person crowd and Barnes Barn can handle it no problem. They also have lots of amenities in the barn that not many others have like on-site bathrooms, refrigerator and sink. As I mentioned, we haven’t gotten married yet but we have seen the ceremony spot up on the hill. The views of the valley are unlike anything I have ever seen. I can’t wait to get married there! My fiance and I also attended the barn dance that the Barnes throw every summer. It was wonderful to see the barn full of people and it gave us a sense of what it will look like on our wedding day. We knew that the Barneses were hosting and we didn’t want to bother them but they greeted us so warmly, introduced us around and even taught us to square dance! We left walking on air and feeling like family. The Barneses understand that weddings are meant to be celebrations and we couldn’t be happier to have ours Barnes Barn.

Katie and Brad

August 29, 2015 Wedding

So, this is an update from a review that I left before we had our wedding. Now that we have actually experienced the whole event last week, I feel the need to gush more about Barnes Barn and the whole Barnes family! Last weekend was the best weekend of our lives and we owe it in large part, to the Barneses and their amazing property. They made the setup (which they allowed us to start the week prior), the ceremony, the reception, and even the cleanup (which we didn’t complete until the Monday after our wedding) a complete fairy tale. Yes — even cleaning up after our wedding was delightful! North Brookfield is roughly a 4.5 hour drive from where we and most of our family and friends live so we had a difficult time explaining to people why we had chosen this venue. As soon as people saw our ceremony location, which was up on the hill overlooking the valley, and the barn, which is a completely gorgeous, warmly lit, huge space, we were flooded by our friends and family telling us that they immediately “get it” and that they have never been to a more beautiful wedding. We hardly feel as if we can take any credit for that — the scenery and the barn need no work at all to be outrageously impressive. Have your wedding at Barnes Barn. It’ll be the best decision you ever make!

Katie and Brad

August 29, 2015 Wedding

There are not enough things that I can say about Barnes Barn and the family! This barn was an absolutely perfect venue for anyone who is looking for a barn venue. The barn is huge and has a lot of room for anyone having weddings having less than 100 to over 200! We had about 200 guests at our wedding and everyone fit very comfortably. The area that I live in, barns are becoming popular and are raising prices to crazy amounts, and Barnes Barn has kept their pricing so incredibly reasonable which helps make any wedding special regardless of your budget!! Megan, the daughter is a great event coordinator who is very flexible and let’s you even come check out the barn when someone else is setting up for their wedding so you can see different ideas! I wasn’t able to do that since I was planning from states away, but she went over and beyond and sent me pictures of every wedding held there and their ideas before my special day! The best thing to me is that the only do one wedding a week, which some people might think is odd, but as a bride, was AMAZING. They give you the whole week, if not a couple of days to set up the wedding so that you can take your time and set up the wedding of your dreams. A week before the wedding, there wasn’t a bridal suite which they were originally going to build by my day, but another couple needed the space, and I kid you not by 3 DAYS the bridal suite was done and looked amazing!!!!!!! Every single one of my guests loved the barn and have been asking about it ever since. A couple of my friends have already contacted the barn about weddings because they loved it so much. Oh and the ceremony site…. ABSOLUTELY BREATHTAKING. One of the most amazing views I’ve ever seen, and my guests were in awe, especially with the peak fall colors shining through the valley. I seriously wish I could get married there every single year, and have the Barnes family be a part of my day over and over again!!!!!

Cherie

October 10, 2015 Wedding

We would not hesitate to recommend Barnes Barn to anyone looking for a simple, yet fabulous venue space. The barn lends itself to be the perfect setting for any event. 5 stars for sure!! We had our wedding there this past weekend and would not have changed a single thing about it or the whole experience we had with the Barnes family. Every one of them extended their assistance in more ways than we could have ever imagined. They were extremely easy to contact, always available to answer any questions we had, willing to meet with us and open the barn at our request, and beyond friendly and hospitable. If asked to do it all again, I would not even consider another venue, I’d choose Barnes Barn again and again!! Thank you to Megan and the rest of the family for helping to make our wedding a night we truly will never forget!!!

Christie

May 14, 2016 Wedding

The Barnes family went above and beyond my expectations. Not only were they there throughout the day of, the family was so open and willing to do anything we needed. From feeding the anxious bride snacks so I didn’t pass out before I walked down the aisle, all the way to staying out late to start a fire for the wedding party. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed without even asking. If you want a down to earth wedding experience with real people there to assist, I would 100% recommend this venue. I personally loved being able to decorate the venue the whole week before the wedding, it really allows you to take your time and not be as stressed during such a special time. The gorgeous views overlooking the hillside are breathtaking, and left my guests talking. The whole experience was incredible and couldn’t have been possible without the whole family helping! Thank you!

Kat and Matt Shepard

July 2, 2016 Wedding

We cannot even begin to explain how beautiful EVERYTHING at Barnes Barn is. Our wedding was our dream come true, from the beautiful view up on the hill to the rustic, beautiful barn just across the road where we had our reception. The Barnes Family is so nice, VERY easy to work with and very reasonable about all requests. They gave us access to the barn (up on the hill if we wanted) a week ahead and locked it each night! We were able to email them, call them and even text them when we had any questions. On the big day they were there incase we needed any help with anything. The BEST part about all the ways to contact them was how FAST they responded every time. If you are looking for a beautiful, affordable, family ran venue this is by far the best choice for your dream barn wedding.

Ashley

August 27, 2016 Wedding

Everyone had a great time at our wedding with the ceremony and reception at the Barnes Barn! Not only is the view amazing, but the barn is gorgeous, spacious, and flexible for however you want it set up! The owners are amazingly sweet, nice, and extremely helpful. Bathrooms with running water, both indoor and out, tables and chairs were all included too. The big Bridal suite was a bonus for all the brides out there. If you’re looking for a good spot for an outdoor or barn wedding, look no further!!

Whitney

June 3, 2017